About last night

Streetlight lit night,

dim shadows,

on the count of midnight,

running free,

barefoot – such an aroma,

sheer peace,

a little breeze in my hair,

finest run these feet have felt,

empty streets,

complete stillness…

the deeper the cut,

the prettier the smile,

the later you stay up,

the lesser things you remember,

the pills that I take,

the things that I still hate,

the lonelier I feel,

the times I still can’t deal,

notwithstanding all else –

my lungs still breathe,

my heart still beats,

I still have a soul,

I just want to feel whole,

without the eyes blue,

without the need of you.

Leave a Reply

