Standpoint

It all ends some day –

the good memories leave with the bad ones.

A really foggy 4 am dawn.

I met someone at the park.

I don’t understand you,

you kind of always leave me perplexed.

Most nights, you’re my moonlight starry sky,

but not tonight.

Do you ever wonder if there’s someone who misses you?

I wonder why people like to befriend me –

short responses and a boring personality,

that’s me in a nutshell.

 

But you know what,

I miss you.

I miss you in this green little town

and I miss you in the city of choking humidity,

where work is defined as life.

I miss you more than these pretty landmarks.

The people in these streets are empty.

Aren’t they?

 

You are bound by conventions and ideologies,

but that doesn’t surpass your redeeming qualities.

Some day you’d miss me too

and that’s when the fog will clear.

You’ll still be my moon even when

the stars are gone in the

dark trails of this smoke.

And my smile will capture the moon perfectly.

 

Leave a Reply

