Simpatico Senorita

We often run out of things to love

but we more often run out of ways

to love those things once we find one of

those things.

 

I would never fall dark to

love your intoxicating laughter.

 

I would never let go the

voices in your silences.

 

I would never deny appreciation to the

way you slung my heart to the sun.

 

I would never deny how you

brighten my candle dim-lit writings.

 

I would never let you delight

the struggle that my poems smuggle.

 

I would never forget how you

kept alive this light in me.

 

I would never let call off

the shadow you gave to my light.

 

For I would only say to you

that the sweetest of the love

comes with the deepest of the cravings

but with the most bitter stings.

 

Leave a Reply

