Stoical

I felt like being your puppy love,

so I hardened my heart and approached you.

 

I felt like being the one you think about

after you first wake up

from a terrific dream

or a horrific nightmare,

so I learned how to listen.

But you, you won’t speak.

 

We are like the chambers of the human heart,

so close,

always there for each other,

but separated.

 

You said you wanted someone patient,

so I waited until the stars asked-

my, how long you’ve been waiting there…

and turned phlegmatic.

 

You said you wanted someone new

so I waited too.

OH. WAIT. YOU NEVER TOLD ME THAT.

 

I had to figure out that

you wanted, needed

and meant

someone else.

Leave a Reply

